Vitamin sea: So long, expectations.

float

PROVIDENCIALES, TCI — The Internet warned us that food here on the island would be expensive, but I still found myself bug-eyed at the grocery store, when we picked up a small package of ground coffee for $11 and a box of Honey Bunches of Oats for $8. Cherries? $10 a pound. Oy. I knew these prices were a telltale indication of similar sticker shock at restaurants, and as an avid foodie on a budget, this pained me. I live to travel. I travel to eat. My circle of life.

I conjured my childhood summers at South Padre Island, where we’d pack a picnic and spend the whole day on the beach grazing on bologna sandwiches, Lays potato chips and grape soda. Those days I could care less what we consumed, so long I could lay contentedly on a neon pink inner tube, weaving through the waves to my heart’s content. Hop out. Build a sand castle. tiny conchThrow a Frisbee. Munch on a plum. Write my name in the sand. Collect the tiniest “bow tie” seashells. Hop back in.

Enter reality check. Wisdom eventually Β shows her knowing face.We procured some floats. We packed some sandwiches. And I gave a nod to the ocean as Mr. Wonderful plucked a tiny conch from her seabed. Namaste.

Thoughts?

