When ‘qualified’ simply means willing and able to love.

reyna headshot

Does this pic make me look qualified to write about motherhood?

Earlier this year, a friend emailed me with a link to an open call for writers and a note:

“Thought of you. I think they could use a different mom and family perspective.”

The link took me to Austin Moms Blog. Say whaaaaaaat?

A mommy blogger? I smirked. I was skeptical to say the least. Mostly because as a stepmama, I struggle on the daily with feeling like a legit parent. Even though I’ve watched our twins grow from preschoolers to nearly third-graders, it’s still hard to believe I’m in charge of little people sometimes.

And then, when it sunk in that this friend actually thought of ME when she saw “mother” and “writer” in the same sentence, I was kind of flattered. As a bonus mama, it’s easy to feel vastly underqualified to raise not one, but two small humans you didn’t birth yourself. But then again, what makes one qualified, really? Compassion. Patience. A sense of humor. Intense adoration for their father. Not a bad place to start, eh?

After all, many women are made mothers by children who were borne not from their wombs, but from their hearts.

The more I thought about my friend’s suggestion, the more I felt confident that I could offer at least some skeptical stepmoms or frustrated bio moms a positive perspective on blended families.

So I waited two weeks. And then I gave myself a pep talk and I applied. I submitted writing samples like this one. And this one. And then two weeks later, I thought the blog’s co-founder had the wrong number when she called and asked to speak to me.

Friends, I’m totally honored (and intimidated) to have been chosen to share my adventures in parenthood with other mothers. And it doesn’t matter how you became one – because what I’ve come to understand is that we’re all just learning as we go.

So now you can find me at Austin Moms Blog! Weeeeeeeird. Will you humor me and read along?

2 thoughts on “When ‘qualified’ simply means willing and able to love.

  1. Christina,
    Thank you for posting this! As an adoptive Mother I too felt the insecurities of being a “real Mom”. In all actuality I fell in Love with our son before he was even born. The moment I held him in my arms just minutes after entering our world I was no longer Laura, I was his Mama. When I was the only one who could soothe him with my voice, my touch and my warmth I was his Mama. Being a Mother is said to be the best feeling in the world and those words are true. I feel like a Mother, I act like a Mother and I talk like my Mother… Lol.
    Yours,
    Laura

    1. Ha! Thank you, Laura, for sharing your experience. I’m happy you can relate. Much love and respect to all the adoptive moms, foster moms, stepmoms and beyond. πŸ™‚

Thoughts?

